​RioOne Health Network 

Stage 1

  • Electronic capturing health information in a standardized format
  • Using that information to track key clinical conditions
  • Communicating that information for care coordination processes
  • Initiating the reporting of clinical quality measures and public health information
  • Using information to engage patients and their families in their care

Stage 2

  • More rigorous health information exchange (HIE)
  • Increase requirements for e-prescribing and incorporating lab results
  • Electronic transmission of patient care summaries across multiple settings
  • More patient-controlled data

​Stage 3

  • Improving quality, safety, and efficiency, leading to improved health outcomes
  • Decision support for national high-priority conditions
  • Access to comprehensive patient data through patient centered HIE
  • Improving population health

For more information visit www.healthit.gov

what is Meaningful Use?

Meaningful use is a CMS program to achieve:

  • Improve quality, safety, efficiency, and reduce health disparities.
  • Engage patients and family.
  • Improve care coordination, and population and public health.
  • Maintain privacy and security of patient health information.

Different Stages of Meaningful USe

The Health Information Exchange (HIE) of South Texas